You can submit a request to Clumio to delete backups that are no longer required. The process requires you to select backups of your assets you want deleted based on a number of selected criteria, and to submit that list to Clumio. The list is submitted in the form of an electronic document that must be signed by the submitter of the request and an additional approver from the same organization–for an added level of security–before Clumio proceeds with the deletion. You will be notified once the deletion is complete.
If any of the selected backups are deleted before the minimum retention period, charges will continue to apply until the minimum retention period is complete.
Only users with the Super Admin role in Clumio can submit a backup deletion request.
- Navigate to Administration > Backup deletion.
- If this is the first time you are submitting a backup deletion request, you will only see instructions for how to create and submit a request and the Create deletion request button. Click Create deletion request to launch the wizard.
- Type a name for the request.
- In the Approver details section, add your job title. The other details are taken from your profile as the logged in user. This information is included in the backup deletion request document.
- You must include an additional approver to create a backup deletion request. The additional approver must be from the same organization as the submitter of the request. This information is also included in the backup deletion request document. Click Next.
- Select the criteria by which backups are selected for inclusion in the deletion request. The Date range and Data source fields are required.
More fields are available after you select a data source (for example AWS, or M365) for which backups are to be deleted. The available fields depend on the data source you select.
If you only choose a date range and datasource, then all backups for that data source for the selected date option will be included in the deletion request.
- The Protection status field includes two options; Protected and Unprotected which indicates the current status of the assets of the selected datasource. If some assets were previously covered by a policy and had backups taken but are no longer protected by a policy, they will show up under the unprotected list. Select the assets to protect from the list.
- You can add multiple data sources to the Backup deletion request panel on the right, one at a time. For example if you select AWS EC2 and any additional criteria, then click Add to request, it is added to the backup deletion request as one item. You can then go back and select another type of AWS resource, or select another datasource like M365 with relevant filter criteria details and add it to the list.
- After you have added all your items to the list, click the preview link to preview a list backups selected for deletion. This may take some time depending on the number and size of the asset backups. You can click an asset to view a list of the backups containing that asset, which will be deleted.
You can also remove items from the Backup deletion request list.
- Click Save and finish later if you want to review the items before submitting the request. This saves the request as a draft on the Backup deletion page. You can then click the request in the table to continue editing it, or you can delete the draft from the Action column. You can edit the name of the request, the additional approver, and the data sources backups to be deleted.
- Click Review if you want to proceed to the next screen to review the deletion selections. You can preview details of the selected backups and make changes now, or click Save and finish later here to submit the request or edit details later.
- Once you are satisfied with the selections click Submit. You will receive an electronic document with all of this information once Clumio has reviewed the request. The document will be sent to the submitter’s email address and must be signed by the submitter as well as the additional approver, before Clumio deletes the selected backups.
You can preview the status of the submitted deletion request on the Backup deletion page.
Updated 8 days ago